Supermarket Fashion

IMG_7152

“I’d have better style if I had more money”

This quote just gives me goose bumps. I hate this quote so much and I keep on hearing it every so.

I have been following all sorts of people on Instagram, FB and other social media. I have been following all-Chanel, head-to-toe Zara and all-the-way thrift shop kind of people. I like getting inspired and inspiring other people because I think it is very important to share your ideas and see how people can reuse and transform them into their own. I have seen people in all kinds of hideous clothes despite what they own and how much money they have.

Back to the quote, why I hate it so much is because the formal definition of a word style is: a particular kind, sort, or type, as with reference to form, appearance, or character”. Which, as you can notice, has nothing to do with money, cash, $$ and bling-bling. Style has to do with appearance, with cohesion, impression, overall presentation and harmony. When someone has a clear style and sense of dressing, this is where, by my criteria, person has a style. And not if they are rich or poor, short or tall, big or small. No!

So, as the hate towards this quote gave me an inspiration to write another post I saw a leather jacket being promoted by Lidl that would be coming to stores. I knew immediately that I need to purchase the jacket which won’t be just a normal leather jacket in a normal outfit post on braidsandeyeliner but would symbolise my hate towards the quote and my mindset of being convinced that you truly don’t need much (or any) money to have a good sense of style and personal way of dressing. I am a big fan of thrift shops and second hand clothing because of its restfulness and beneficial effect on me (price), environment (no extra production) and society (post-use of a clothing that would otherwise be thrown away).

In this post I really  want to show with such a small piece of a garment strong and bigger message that should be portrayed and force people to think about how, why and what we buy these days.

IMG_1847

 | Jacket – LIDL | Bra – Monki | Pants – COS | Shoes – Zara |

Do what you love. Love what you do.

Milena Sekulic

Instagram

Facebook

13 thoughts on “Supermarket Fashion

  1. Great post. A lot of people don’t seem to realize that money doesn’t buy personal style. It’s inherent. I’m pretty confident that I could pull together a great look with $50 or $50,000. It’s just having the confidence and self-assurednessto pick what you like and rock it. xo

      1. “Self-assurance”!! I blame my glass of sauvignon blanc for not remembering the proper term. LOL! You are welcome! Again – great post. I feel everyone should read this.

  2. I totally agree with you, style isn’t about money at all. You look amazing in this outfit and I love the shoes!

  3. Love this look. Your comments about that quote were very true. You can have all the money in the world, but not have a unique style that represents you. Great post. 🙂

    somethingsbright.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

